Crazy Lace

Aforementioned Unbloggable Lace is unbloggable no more. It’s a shawl. A lace shawl. My first! I made up the pattern and when/if I finish it, I’ll put the pattern up. I love the yarn, Yarn Palace GENTLE (dunno why it’s capitolized), which is a 95/5 merino/cashmere blend. I’m working on nice, sturdy bamboo needles. Last time I tried a lace shawl, I did it on Addi Turbos. It was going nicely; I was doing a nifty diamond lace pattern, and then it happened. One fateful day in the car:
Friend Person: *says something funny*
Me: *laughs*
Stitch: *slips of slipperly needles* Weeee! Watch me drop!
Other stitches: *follows* Weeee!

After a few feverish attempts to pick up the dropped stitches, I ripped it all out and abandoned my lace shawl dreams. Fun Fact: The reason I wanted to make a lace shawl was so I could say “My shawl can be pulled through a wedding ring!” and pull my shawl through a wedding ring. I just thought that was the coolest thing.

This shawl is rectangular, and can indeed be pulled through a wedding ring (so far). Unfortunately, it can’t fit through my ring (which is substantially smaller than a wedding ring). That was a bit of a downer.

This shawl is more fun than a barrel of monkeys, but there are a few problems:

1. Due to Excessive Fun-ness, I knit this in class during lectures. I can still pay attention to the lecture, but maybe not so much to my knitting. I completely messed up on a lace repeat because I thought I remembered how the row went. Luckily, I noticed it three rows later, and after much grinding of teeth, tinked back a row. After the tinked row, I dropped down the stitches to the offending row, and re-knit them as I did the next row. Now everything’s okay, but it has made me wary.
2. During tinking, I am prone to dropping stitches. Luckily, I had a life line, so it didn’t drop into any lace. Close call. I love lifelines.
3. Gauge issues. I did a swatch.* I swear I did. But what I thought would be two feet when I cast on had magically turned to at least three feet. This is gonna be one wide rectangular shawl. That’s fine, but I’m worried about yarn. Expecially since I’m having
4. Tangling issues. I think I’ve lost at least 30 yards to tangles already, if not more. No good.
5. Due to Excessive Fun-ness, I am not knitting the birthday present I need to be knitting. This is bad. Really bad. The only remedy to this problem is to make the shawl the birthday present. And since the giftee already knows about the shawl, this will not work. Besides, I’ve been coveting the &*$# thing ever since I started.
6. I am the last person on Earth who would look good wearing a shawl. None of my knitting ever looks good on me (socks are excluded, since it’s just feet). Also, I’m not likely to wear a shawl anyway. Lily, or even Cathy would be more likely to. Best case scenario, I scrunch it up aroud my neck and it’s a scarf. Worst case scenario, I drop it on the ground and a dinosaur eats it. I know dinosaurs are extinct, but knowing my luck, I’d bet one has survived just to eat my shawl.
*knitted a couple rows, removed from needles, guesstimated the number of stitches to the inch, and cast on.

Here’s a picture of the shawl. It’s all scrunched up for a reason – I don’t want to reveal the lace pattern quite yet.
crazylace.jpg

2 Comments

  1. Anne said,

    February 15, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    I’ve never been any good at knitting, so I weave my shawls. I can’t wait to see the finished piece!

  2. Christine said,

    February 19, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    The color looks amazing.


Leave a Reply

