A few musing on the beret

Ah, the beret. I have to say that I’ve always wanted one. The pattern in the Winter ’06 issue of Interweave Knits has been quietly but constantly whispering to me. “Bronach,” it says. “Look at me. I only take one skein of tweed handspun. They sell it at Erica’s! It coudl onlt cost eleven dollars!” When I try to quiet it’s voice, it gives the most convincing arguement yet.
“Bronach,” it says. “You could knit me in blue.” I love blue tweed yarn. It’s an unreasonable love, but that does not stop it in any way. Oh well. We’re getting of topic.

Here’s the thing, though.
It is soooooo *expletive deleted* hard to find a good beret pattern in a bearable yarn. Besides the IK one (which is very good), the only one I really like is The Last Minute “Purled” Beret. And here are the Top Three Reasons Why:
3. Excessive Pom-Pom usage. Yes, I know I could just leave the pom pom off, but wouldn’t you rather knit from a pattern that has never been associated with pom poms than something like this? Example:
_________pompomofdoooom.jpg
Ew. And by lion Brand, too.
2. The Furry Factor of Fury!
_______________cestscary.jpg
And finally…
1. Usage of the adjective “jaunty.” I hate that! “Jaunty” is the most overused word to describe berets of all time. I especially hate it when they say things like “this beret can be worn at a jaunty angle!” For goodness sakes, people. Call it cheerful, call it perky (though I still might cringe), but don’t use the j-word. Please. Think of the children.

2 Comments

  1. alpaca12 said,

    February 5, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEW!!!!! EXSESSIVE FUNFUR ALERT!!!!!!1!! BWEEEEEE BWEEEEEEEEE BWEEEEEEEEEEEE

  2. Bronach said,

    February 5, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    Tiffany, actually. The “angora-feel” yarn. Doncha love Lion Brand?
    🙂


Leave a Reply

