It’s almost New Years

So, if it’s almost 2007, where the heck is the new issue of the Anticraft? Seriously.

Anyway. This year I learned to spin. Next year, I plan to sell handspun yarn online.

This year I learned to crochet. Next year, I plan to make amigurami. Lots of it. With any luck, I’ll be knee-deep in the stuff.

This year I started writing patterns. Next year, I plan to get one published, be it in Knitty, Magknits, Crochet Me… whatever.

And this year, I started a knitting blog. Next year, I shall get my act together and figure out how the bleep to upload pics from the digital camera without help.

Thank you. Thank you very much.

Ooh. And here’s some pictures. Finally.

This is some handspun. It’s in wool, with beads and crochet cotton. It was really interesting to make, but unfortunately all of the roving only produced 25 yards or so. Oh well… I’m calling the coloway Misty Moon. Cheesy, no? Anyway, hopefully I can sell something like it on the aforementioned online handspun shop.

handspun-misty-moon.JPG

Here be a toe-up skull sock. Yar. I used the skull motif from my free charts section of this website. They are turning out pretty well. They are my first toe-ups in sock yarn, (I did one pair in worsted weight) and I have to say I like toe-up socks a lot better than top-downs, for a multittude of reasons.

skull-sock.JPG

Here is Kate and a little square kitty based on a Swatchy named Mina. Mina was made by my little sister, who has declared Mina and Kate to be good friends.

kate-and-mina.JPG

And here is one of two Center Square hats I knitted – one of them has already been given away (I did that one in the original red/pink colorway), and this one is for me. I have to say, those hats are really addicting to knit. You were supposed to knit them with two strands of worsted weight, but I just used one strand. It made the hat lighter and softer than two tightly knit strands, while still being nice and warm.

swedish-pancakes.JPG

None of these photos really capture the true colors, but hey. C’est la vie.

4 Comments

  1. Cathy said,

    January 1, 2007 at 2:00 am

    Repeat after me, Bjorn!

    C’est la vie. C’EST LA VIE.

    NOT “se” la vie, c’est la vie!

    Okay, random french criticism over.

    I like handspun. I’m trying to A) find where you can get the necessary tools to spin (like fiber, drop spindle, etc.) and B) get some of the aforementioned tools. I think my favorite word list is updated! Here it is:

    1) Problematic
    2) Whatsoever
    3) Aforementioned
    4) Yarn
    5) Fibre (spelled with the r before the e)

    It figures that 2/5 of my list is knitting. I like how the word “fibre” looks spelled like that. Problematic sounds like it’s not a word, but it is. And whatsoever and aforementioned are long, made of many words, and easily misspelled.

  2. January 1, 2007 at 2:35 am

    Oops. Must fix that. Sorry. 2/5 on your favorite word list are also on my blog post!

  3. Cathy said,

    January 1, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Gooooood Bjorn. But 3/5 of my word list is NOT on your blog! So HA!

    Actually, that makes no sense.

    C’est la vie.

  4. AA#1 said,

    January 4, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    YAY! Bjorn uses French on her blog!! Ah, how I long for La Belle France . . . *sniff* I don’t know about the yarn supply, though. I GOT MISTY MOON! And I’m gonna save it up!


Leave a Reply

