Yay! Yay! Very very yay!

Big ‘Ol Edit: I’m deeply sorry if anyone was offeded by my reviews. They are just my opinion, not everything. 🙂
It’s December 1st, and you know what that means! New issues of online knitting magazines! Because I still have no FOs, I shall instead review the new issue of MagKnits.

Cinnabar – At first when saw this, it didn’t turn my crank. But after looking at it a bit longer, I like it. It’s very pretty. I wouldn’t make a scarf so big on size US 5s. It would take to long. If I make it (doubtful) I’ll convert the pattern for bigger needles.

Party Lace Scarf – Pretty, bu I feel like I’ve seen that feather and fan design for scarves in that yarn a million times before.

Hourglass Eyelet Socks – These are okay, but I wouldn’t make them for myself. I’d mant to make something more elaborate with that nice yarn.

Brioche Malagaiter – Okay. I like it; it’s nice. But it is also very blatantly ripped off Knitty’s Sugar on Snow. Not cool. Edit: Sorry, I was wrong. It was not a rip off. Just a mistake on mine and Knitty’s part. 😦 Oops.

Counterpoint – Oooh. I love illusion knitting. And that’s cool if you like playing piano. But I’d rather make something else.

Alpaca Ruffle Boa – Hasn’t that design, you know, been done?

Easy-Going Potholders – WOW!!! Potholders???? OMG SO UNIQUE!!!!!!!!!! (Okay. Yes. I made a potholder pattern too. But there’s a difference. Mine does not just say “Cast on, work a stitch pattern, and put fabric on the back.”)

Kureyon-Chan – Okay, I’m probably making this. I’m going to get a ball of rainbow colored Kureyon and make on as fast as I can. One skein Kureyon project ROCK!!!

Edit: Look at this.

Lol.

11 Comments

  1. AA#1 said,

    December 2, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    Mmn hmm.

  2. AA#1 said,

    December 2, 2006 at 2:53 pm

    What’s an FO, by the way?

  3. Cathy said,

    December 2, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    KNOW YOUR LIMITS.

  4. AA#1 said,

    December 2, 2006 at 5:22 pm

    Who? Me, or Bjorn?

  5. Cathy said,

    December 3, 2006 at 7:15 pm

    Umm… women?

    GOSH! Didn’t you watch the video?

  6. Aloha said,

    December 3, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    Aloha

    By a very bored Aloha

    Aloha

    Aloha

    Aloha

    Aloha

  7. mlegan said,

    December 5, 2006 at 3:21 am

    Regarding the Malagaiter. I submitted this to Knitty back in April and they told me it was too similar to somthing that had done in the past — then two issues later, I see Sugar on Snow. So, while it may seem, a blatant rip off, it’s not. I felt really bad when I saw Sugar on Snow, since it was so similar to Malagaiter, which they had rejected. Not to slam Knitty, I’m sure that Sugar on Snow met some criteria for that issue.
    Mary Lou Egan

  8. Joanne said,

    December 7, 2006 at 5:18 pm

    In reference to the Alpaca Ruffle Boa–absolutely, this has been done in a crocheted format. It’s been done in a knitted short row format, too, I think. It hasn’t been done in eyelet ruffles, as I’ve done, and I don’t think the bell shaped ruffle is similar, either. I also used a sportweight alpaca/cashmere yarn on big needles, which covers different ground, too. I included a graph in the original submission to show the eyelets, as well as a close up view of the bell shape, but those weren’t published by the editor. Apparently, both the editor and I thought it hadn’t already “been done” this way, but you know, there’s nothing new under the sun. There’s a chance that there’s another pattern just like this one someplace in the knitting world, often designers think of the same ideas and publish them independently. It happens. Best of luck in your career as a reviewer!

  9. December 7, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    Oh. Sorry. I feel very mean now. :0( I didn’t see that. Dang, it’s nice to see other people on my website, though! I made one of those scarves before (not with the same pattern) and foolishly hung it in my closet. It strechted to at least twice it’s orginal size, and the cast on is so tight now that when I put it around my neck it’s like being strangled by a peice of yarn.

  10. Cathy said,

    December 8, 2006 at 10:54 pm

    …and everybody gets along again. Awwwww.

    Sorry, I kinda was insulting. I know, I’m in public. But it’s what I DO!

  11. evie said,

    December 11, 2006 at 12:41 am

    Bjorn, I don’t think you were being mean at all in your review of Joann Seiff’s pattern. I agree with your comment despite the designer’s rebuttal. There is nothing particularly new or exciting about this pattern, though it is a lovely color.

    Also, there is plenty that is new under the sun — especially the knitter’s sun. That is why this particular pattern was so inspiring when it first appeared. One need only peruse the books of Teva Durham, Debbie New, Leigh Radford, and countless others who are creating such a stunning new body of knitted work. In all of my knitting life(35+ years) I have not seen as much innovation as in the past five years.

    It is such an exciting era for knitting. I am sure we will be seeing something extraordinary from Joann Seiff in the near future. But my money is on you, Bjorn.


Leave a Reply

